Solo Canoe Recommendation

I am new to canoeing and have recently take some formal paddling instruction. I am interested in purchasing a solo boat and will be doing the following:

60% of the time I will be on flat water lakes sight seeing on regular day trips

40% of my time I will be on 2-3 day camping trips on the Lower Mississippi River. The Lower Mississippi does not contain tight turns and would be classified with as a slow moving river with a few spots of mild current but not Class anything. There are however commonly 2-3 ft. waves resulting from barge traffic. I weigh 230 lbs.

Frequently, I will be traveling with tandem canoes that have two paddlers. Right now I’m considering the Wenonah Prism, Bell Magic and the Souris River Tranquility. I need something that can manage the waves, carry me and 2 days of gear, and keep up with the tandems. I would welcome recommendations particularly from people who have experience paddling two or more of the models mentioned. If there are others better suited please mention them as well. Thanks for your advice.

i’d look hard at wenonah’s other…
solos – the voyager and encounter.

the voyager is very fast and handles a load well. the encounter more seaworthy and really holds a lot of gear.

i think the prism or magic could fit the bill, but in heavy seas with a heavy load, the bigger wenonahs may be better.

chad

The SR Tranquility Solo
is a slow one…the Magic and the Prism would leave in the virtual dust.

Moreover it is a real beast to turn unless heeled…and it was not designed for that. Secondary stability is a little shaky.

I was looking forward for some time to paddle it as they are hard to find around here (dealers dont stock it but do stock the SR tandems) and when I did paddle it it was quite a letdown.

A plus for it with gear is its depth. Quite deep.

solo
I fully agree with kayamedic that you should scratch the Souris River off of your list, I was also totally disappointed when I paddled one.