Solo Tripping Canoe for river travel.

-- Last Updated: Jan-05-05 2:58 PM EST --

I've read about the Prospector and Wenonah's Rendezvous but are there others you would reccommend from day tripping to 2-4 days of river travel? Or is the Rendezvous and Prospector as good as it gets? I'll add I'm no expert but would like to do class I-II and maybe some "easy" III's.

Bell
I’ve owned a bunch of solo canoes in my life. For river travel I’ll take my Bell Yellowstone Solo. I have fun in II’s & lower III’s. It tracks fair and has reasonale speed. Last Fall I friend & I did a 4 day trip. He had a Merlin II. Crossing windy lakes and no problem for either canoe and the Yellowstone Solo was just as fast as the Merlin II in the wind-blown waves.

Mohawk
Check out the Mohawk line of solos. Less expensive than the big names but great boats for gunkholing around.

https://mohawkcanoes.com/home.htm

Great people to do business with.

Bell Yellowstone
Formerly Wildfire (ABS). Is a great small river/creek runner. Personally I don’t like how it paddles loaded with a bunch of gear for tripping (Dave and I disagree on this point). But running light I think it’s great. At 6’2” & 190 lbs (+/-) & with small to medium sized packs it does just about everything I ask of it. I spend at least 50 to 60 days a year paddling and my ABS Wildfire is by far my most used canoe for day trips.

As a long distance tripper I prefer my Swift Shearwater. It carries a huge pile of gear and is pretty darn maneuverable for a 16 footer. It’s not as maneuverable as the Wildfire to be sure, but it carries “tonnage” much better. It actually handles better with a good load IMHO.

Both of the above canoes have differential rocker which helps them track straight with little effort. But differential rocker also has the down-side of a “sticky stern” and I’m a little weary of that at this point… I’ve come to appreciate “looser” canoes of late.