sore hands

I am somewhat new to kayaking and am struggling with stiff/sore hands. I use a light carbon Werner paddle that is feathered (adjustable and I use 60 degrees). My dominant right hand gets especially stiff - almost certainly from gripping the paddle too tightly. I find that if I relax the hand too much I loose control over the blade in the water. Is this a normal problem for a less experienced paddler? Any tips would be appreciated.

Common beginner problem

– Last Updated: Oct-20-09 10:41 PM EST –

Most likely it's because you're powering your strokes with your arms instead of torso rotation. If you bend your elbow during the stroke, that's a clue that you're probably pulling the blade with your arm, and you have to grip the paddleshaft tightly.

Using proper torso rotation to power the stroke, your arms and hands simply hold the paddle in place while your body pushes it. A couple ways to tell if you're doing it right is if your arm stays straight through the power phase and only bends to lift the blade at the end of the stroke. The other clue is if your shoulder moves backwards with the blade during the power phase.

Best way to learn proper stroke technique is to take a lesson from a qualified instructor. If you can't, go on YouTube and look for videos on forward stroke technique.

This one's a hoot: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DWLx0eMo7p0.

In this one, note how the paddler's hands are open a good deal of the time: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vqx3ZWqjoUs&feature=related

sore
Yes always keep elbows bent.

Don’t eat sugar and your joints will be much better.

Your paddle blades are designed to
do the right thing in the water without your needing to control the blade angle during the stroke. When new to kayaking, one does tend to grip too hard as if the paddle blade needed help. Mostly it doesn’t.