stability?

hello im new to hopefully getting a kayak,in the past ive owned a cheap bath tub canoe now discontinued from meijers dept store years ago.my question is i understand the that initial stability means a good stable boat in flat water. but im confused as to how secondary stability can be more stable in awater that is rough,choppy,ect. how can that be more stable in rough water when they are not stabe in flat water. if you feel like your gonna tip on a smooth lake how can you feel more comfortable in rough water?

imagine a flat-bottomed raft
Tom Sawyer style.

That would be good and horizontal in flat water, but on a big wave it would be diagonal–conforming to the “side” of the wave. Not much fun to be on.

Now imagine a water-logged telephone poll in the water. On flat water its rolly. But on a wave the it just goes up and down, over the wave. If you could somehow hollow it out and ride it out inside the log, you’d find it may be less prone to dramatic tilts than the flat raft.

Kayaks with good secondary allow you to ride it out on the face of a wave and still stay upright. Or they allow you to get your boat way over on its side and still feel like you have plenty of support. Something like that. Hope that helps.

One way of seeing it
Try thinking of it this way:

A boat with a lot of initial stability likes to keep it’s bottom parallel to the surface of the water all the time. So, if the water starts being something other than flat, the boat is going to want to go with the surface of the water, and pitch with the waves.

A boat with less initial stability doesn’t care so much about the surface. It’s kept upright by the balance of the paddler as much as by anything else, so waves don’t affect it as much. If the paddler keeps their orientation and balance with the horizon, so will the boat. At least a bit easier than the flat-bottomed boat would. The bigger and steeper the waves, the more you notice it.