Stupid question time , ice paddling?

As title says stupid question but I am a covid newbie so here goes, if I decided to paddle in the winter in NJ , how to I deal with ice? Now I do not expect to encounter ice where I usually paddle ( Delaware Bay) but if I took a lake or river is there a guideline how to paddle in ice, would one want to??? Pros and Cons. I will dress for the part , I am asking how to do it and why do it? TIA

Ice is solid… Unclear why you would want to paddle on it unless you are talking chunks.

If you are talking ice formed up near shore, break it up.

:hammer_and_pick: may help.

Just be prepared that ice may be where it formerly wasn’t while out paddling. Particularly on moving water during spring breakup. Once we had to find an alternate takeout after the put in was filled in with giant ice blocks that had flowed down while we were paddling

1 Like

I was out in the bay
a some areas by marsh and had slushy areas. I paddled in the length of the kayak. Not a good feeling I felt stuck in it. It was calm I couldn’t imagine if there were even small waves. There was only one way out that was backwards. I easily could have been in not that much deeper and had a real hard time freeing up.

1 Like

I would imagine that in salt the freshwater marshes would freeze first.

I paddle year-round and deal with ice every year. On our Michigan river the ice can be a mess or it can be non-existent. Usually only the edges freeze up, and as the water level drops the slabs hang up on the shore and tilt down to the water, which makes getting in and out very problematic. Its only a couple of feet deep but I don’t want to step into ice water.