Surf Kayak info - where to start?

I forget if Sing or String is the resident surf kayaker here, but I have some questions. My interest was peaked after spending an afternoon with the great Merv Larson. I didn’t know who he was at the time but after watching his old videos, I think I could get behind the surf kayak. He does some amazing things like a forward eskimo roll, one of the most impressive moves I’ve ever seen (mid-way through the segment in the video linked below)

Basically, if I want to look into a surf kayak, where should I go (any dedicated forums?) / what should I know as a total newbie? I’ll start looking for a boat in the semi-near future, but figure I should learn the basics.

Check out Merv Larson paddling beginning at 1:04:20
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CzhKDusI9as

Good info I found here too:
https://www.swaylocks.com/groups/merv-larson-surf-ski-epoxy-or-poly-and-other-s

Thanks

Sing will be along shortly with all the info you need. Happy Surfing!

Some good info here http://www.surfkayakskills.com

@MCImes said:
I forget if Sing or String is the resident surf kayaker here, but I have some questions. My interest was peaked after spending an afternoon with the great Merv Larson. I didn’t know who he was at the time but after watching his old videos, I think I could get behind the surf kayak. He does some amazing things like a forward eskimo roll, one of the most impressive moves I’ve ever seen (mid-way through the segment in the video linked below)

Basically, if I want to look into a surf kayak, where should I go (any dedicated forums?) / what should I know as a total newbie? I’ll start looking for a boat in the semi-near future, but figure I should learn the basics.

Check out Merv Larson paddling beginning at 1:04:20

Thanks