surfing following seas

Well, I place a thread here a couple of weeks ago regarding the behavior of my P+H CETUS. Have had several outings since then with stout winds and waves, this kayak is too much in a followinf sea, it is a handful, I’ve been paddling for 25 years now and owned a lot of boats, sorry to say the CETUS is a PIG in windy conditions.I am trading for a BAHIYA, much more in line with what I’m used to.

Thanks for all of the replies.

did you try the bahiya first
it might paddle about the same?

Why a Bahiya?
Curious if you’ve tried a number of boats in the conditions you describe and found the Bahiya the most to your liking?

gotta agree
you better try the B in the wind before you call the Cetus a ‘pig’ in the wind.

steve

Hmmm… Quest LV too?
I’ve paddled a Quest LV, and think it had a strong tendency to broach in following seas, of even 2 feet…

Skeg or no skeg, it took a lot of ruddering to keep it straight…

That bow just digs right in…

Ive paddled, from the P&H line
the Capella in the 16’6" x 22" in a rotomolded, the Bahiya and the Sirius all in surf.

The Sirius, of course, was my preferred boat, followed by the Bahiya, and then the Capella. I stand at five foot six inches tall, and weigh only one hundred thirty five pounds.

Im actually surprised to hear you say that the Cetus is a ‘pig’ in the wind. Care to elaborate?

Bahiya review
The SK review (Dec 2004) mentioned the bow tending to submerge, which probably isn’t ideal for what you are wanting.

A nice-looking boat, does have that going for it. Assuming your trade-in options are limited(?)

Mike

Have you considered a surf ski?
Are you running down wind a lot in big swells or choppy crap?

Do you have to stay with P&H?
I was just reading your earlier posts and you noted that friends did much better in their Explorers. Do you have to stick with P&H or might you be able to trade in the Cetus for another brand?