Taking along musical instruments

I’m new to canoeing and wonder if anyone takes along a guitar or other musical instruments when you canoe camp.

Do you use a dry bag?

Thanks.

Scott

I play an old Martin …

– Last Updated: May-21-08 10:39 AM EST –

....... acustic but have never taken it to camp in a canoe ......... but I don't see why you couldn't do it especially if there will be others there to jamb with , that would be fun around the camp fire ......... if you do take an instrument along , probably best to protect from rain or water damage while exposed ........ using a large plastic bag over the case though might cause excessive moisture to build up inside the bag (not good) , especially if in the Sun , so that's something think about also ......... no one I camp with plays guitar or other , but if they did I would consider bringing mine !!

I used to play trumpet
but it seemed a bit foolish to bring it along on a canoe trip. So I switched to harmonicas and recorders, which are small and easy to pack.

-rs

Here is a solution
http://www.rainsong.com/

Only $2500

Jim

didgeridoo
We were camping a spot when another group pulled up and asked if they could share our camp. A few hours later one of the guys pulls out a 7ft Australian didgeridoo out of the bottom of the canoe! It was pretty neat sitting around the campfire listening to that.

I don’t
I go for the natural sounds and any instrument is intrusive. Especially for those across the water.

Natural enough for you?
http://youtube.com/watch?v=R6dm9rN6oTs

Martin backpacker
in a garbage bag in a drybag. Love it. I got the nylon, wish I’d gotten the steel strings. Gotta admit, it’s a funky little guy that takes some getting used to, but it’s pretty nice to have around at the end of the day.

Last year at Pymatuning Lake
in the early afternoon, a guy camped across the road pulled out a set of bagpipes and started wailing.