Thoughts on kayak purchase (small woman)

Hi,

I am a beginner (5’3" and 145lbs, 35yrs, 39" hips, short torso/longer legs) and have not kayaked in anything other than the various types of SOTs you find at your typical rental facilities.

I would like to get into kayaking (have always been interested in learning) and have been looking around a bit to see what’s out there and have been reading many past posts here in the forums. Despite being in South FL, there are not many kayak outfitters close by and I have to travel at least an hour to find a decent place. And, even then, I would say the stores are not stocked that well because there are just not many people into kayaking in South Florida.

I am interested in SIK model only. I found a good deal on a new, old model (2012) CD Squall GTS. I also found a used CD Willow that I would have to travel a bit to take a look at. Since I am just a beginner, I would be interested in hearing thoughts as to how I should how I should approach buying my first kayak. From what I have read here, the Squall would be a good beginner kayak, but then I worry because I hear some find it to be “barge-like” and I don’t imagine that I would want a kayak that felt that way, lol. I would like something that I could progress/advance in (rolls, etc.). I’d like to keep my budget around $1,000 (I would spend a bit more if I found a great kayak at good price).