tippeness, having trouble !

Hello; I ahve been on the water allmy life sailing diving.working in the crab fishery.rowing small boats and on and on.I have been using dive kayaks for 25 years.Done a fair amount of white water canoe has well.Never sat in a sit inside kayak untill 2 weeks ago.I bought 2 used,W.S. epic,sealoution.The first time out the seloution was a handfull the next time it was way better,then i switched to the epic very twichy for me at first then i started getting the feel for it, this was all in bodega bay flat water.Then i took the epic to tomales bayin a little rougher water twichy again and then i started to realy feel good in the boat.Coming accross the bay in 20 knot wind with white caps and 2ft+ wind chop i was doing great the boat felt good and i had control not tippy at all this was with the wind close on the bow quarter,I Was loving it! then yesterday i came across the same water with a new wind direction More on the beam and a little foward of the beam It was very hard for me, not to tip over ,was fighting it the whole way almost went over several times.The boat just felt like it was goin over all the time.When i came up into the wind it was a lot better But by then i was so tired of trying to hold the boat up it was tippy to not like the day before.My wife who was on my tarpon 140 was having a blast the whole way.Her And my buddy who was also on a T 140 both were telling me to get rid of that sit in side.I will not give up its got to get better.How long does it take to get good control of a boat like this?Is this the wrong boat for a begener the sealoution is much more stable but i want paddle the long, low beutifull epic not the big fat sealoution! Any advice or incouragement would be apprecated!!!

Narrow boat and technique or two
the Epic as a pretty narrow boat for a first sit-inside. Unless your pretty light. So, no wonder it’s a handful.