Touring Kayak options

I’m fairly new to kayaking. My current kayak is a 10 foot fishing model and was a recent birthday gift . I’ve quickly learned that I want a boat that will allow more speed and paddling efficiency, along with the safety and reliability to paddle my local lakes and reservoirs
no matter the water conditions.

I was raised to appreciate and enjoy the woods and water, exploring, boating, canoeing, fishing and scuba diving etc. Kayaking provides another means by which to explore with the added challenge and health benefits of paddling.

I’m most interested in the WS Tempest 165. I can’t seem to find similar plastic boats with specs that compare to the Tempest. The fiberglass boats are really nice, but more than I want to spend right now. What other touring kayaks might I have overlooked?

I’m 5’9" 145 lbs.

There are many touring/sea kayaks that compare the the Tempest 165, no reason to limit yourself right away to one model. The kayak should fit your body, and different boats feel good to different people.

Personally I always advise to buy a used boat. It will be much cheaper, and then if you decide you want a different boat, which seems to happen very often, you can usually easily resell it for what you paid, so long as you got a decent deal. And if you’re ruling out fiberglass just on the basis of cost, I can tell you from personal observation that, oddly enough, fiberglass boats aren’t always more expensive than plastic boats when purchasing used.

If you add your height and weight, and also your shoe size, then people can recommend good boats that might fit your size well.

Also, it’s good to try out a lot of different boats if you can, and get a sense of what you like, rather than deciding on a boat by reading about it.

1 Like

Many great kayaks available used for under 1,000 even 750.

All from 650-900 dollars.