touring vs. recreational

i am still learning the names of all the boat pieces and parts, why they are, and what they do.

so far the only real difference i can see is that the touring boats are, in general, not as wide.

so, in the interest of better understanding on my part, are there other differences as well.

thanks!

Hard to generalize…
… but we have to anyway. Longer, and narrower, and smaller cockpit that is easier to seal with a skirt that the huge rec cockpits. Touring baot also normally feature hatches for gear and bulkheads to separate them and provide separate sealed compartments for flotation/safety on larger waters. Also more likely to have a rudder or skeg as a standard feature for improved control in wind on same larger and more exposed waters.

The real hair splitting is between “sea kayak” - and “touring kayak” and disention generally centers around individual paddlers differences of how and where they paddle as much as the boats themselves.

Ditto above
When you’ve paddled a “Rec.” boat and then a “Sea kayak” you’ll know the difference :slight_smile:

Double Ditto
The differences from my Otter (9.6 ft rec ) to the 139 Adventure XL (touring ) to the 170 Boreal Design I-Boat (Sea kayaking) is as different as night and day.

Stay safe on the water

Simple reference
Greyak summarized it pretty well.

A major aspect is length and width. Sea kayaks tend to be more than 15 feet long and less than 24 inches wide. Rec boats tend to be shorter than 16 and wider than 24 inches.

This can be a starting point if you are looking at listings of statistics.

Lean vs. stroke
To turn a rec you paddle hard to the opposite side

to turn a sea you just lean it over,but not to far…

No, no, no…
The rec yak turns with each stroke.

They zig zag through the water !

Cheers,

JackL

I think there are exceptions to the rule

– Last Updated: Dec-09-05 6:30 PM EST –