Tsunami 140 vs Manitou 13

Hi All,

I’m buying my first (preowned) kayak, although I’ve had some experience paddling. Paddle mostly in the harbor and explore, up river, sometimes out the mouth of the harbor along the beaches, a little ocean but not way far out.

Anyway, I have the option of buying a Necky Manitou 13, practically new vs a Tsunami 140, a couple of years old but in great condition. I’m definitely leaning towards the Tsunami, but would love any input/suggestions.

Thanks!

I vote for tsunami
I’ve had a Manitou 13 for a few years now. River, lake, and some ocean tripping. A few overnighters up to six days and 300km. So clearly I pushed this boat beyond the usual uses of a “day touring” boat and it has worked very well.

I bought my boat on a whim, and without the benefit of any experience, but after all this time, I can’t say its shortcomings would be sufficient to justify buying a better boat for the sort of paddling I do. I sort of lust for something new and shiny, but, all in all, I’m pretty happy with the Manitou.

I tried my buddy’s Tsunami last year and liked it. It felt a bit odd (like new shoes feel odd). The Tsunami front deck seems higher than the Manitou’s. But I think, overall, the Tsunami is a better boat with better outfitting. If I had to choose again, I’d pick a Tsunami.

More points for your consideration:

If you doing any overnight tripping, you will definitely appreciate the front hatch. I have to ram things into the front of the cockpit and tie them in.

A longer boat will be better for ocean and lakes. A shorter boat (the Manitou) will turn better in swifter water and tight corners. Probably, though, the difference in length isn’t a deal breaker.

My hunch is that the most relevant factor is fit. If you have an opportunity to paddle both boats, that’s likely the best way to make the decison. You’ll spend a lot of time in that seat.