upriver canoe

I am new to canoing, but I love it. I have lots of questions, but I will start with one. When my husband and I took an OT Discovery 17 5 down river to a great fishing spot, it only took 20 minutes to get there and 2 hours to get back. Would a different canoe be easier to get back upriver? I am not fond of the little motor possibilities.

Your canoe is long enough to
go upstream effectively. It’s either the current, the complications, or your lack of experience paddling upstream.

Poling is a very effective way to work your way back upstream. However, it’s easier to learn poling solo than as a pair.

The lower, slower river currents of late summer may make upstream paddling easier, provided that the rivers don’t get so shallow that your paddles can’t find purchase.

If one or both of you is good at bicycling, perhaps you can stash a bike downstream for shuttle.

Could be about right. Think math.
Let’s suppose you are paddling at 3 mph independent of the current. Further suppose that the current in the river is flowing at 2 mph.

This means as you paddle down the river you will be going 5 mph: your speed + the river’s speed. If you went down river for 20 minutes, which is 1/3 of an hour, you would have traveled 1/3 hour x 5 mph = 1 2/3 miles.

So, you are then 1 2/3 miles down the river.

Going upstream, your resultant speed will be 3 mph (you) - 2 mph (the river) = 1 mph.

Since you have 1 2/3 miles to travel at 1 mph, the return trip will take 1 2/3 hours or 1 hour and 40 minutes.

I think most experienced paddlers would usually paddle upstream first, so the return trip, when you are more tired, is faster and easier.

hiding from current