Used whitewater boats for small / light beginner ww paddler?

hi everyone

i have been flatwater / seakayaking for a number of years, so not a total newbie to kayaks, but just starting out with whitewater. i have read (somewhere?) that especially with whitewater kayaks it is important to get a boat that fits rights, and i am wondering if anyone could point me towards any boats that might be a good fit & that i ideally could find used? i am fairly small / light and using the metric system: 169cm, ca. 55kg. i think that should be 5’7’’ and 121 pounds respectively?
the zet veloc ZET Kayaks has been suggested to me as fairly affordable entry point, but i think i would prefer to start with a used boat while i am still making up my mind whether ww is for me. i came across a good deal (i think - 200€) on an eskimo topolino, which appears to be a classic so cannot be all bad? but so far i have not been able to find info on the suggested paddler weight for this boat. does the volume of a boat generally translate to how heavy the paddler should be? more volume = more weight? sorry if these are stupid queries…

i understand there also are differences re the type of boat and what they are intended for, but just starting out i cannot really say what it is am looking for? sorry. :slight_smile: i am currently taking my first babysteps on grade ii and plan on a proper outing this may on grade iii. would like to go beyond that if i survive (and enjoy the process).

many thanks in advance!

Open boater, so I can’t help you on your kayak choice, but I can encourage you to move forward with whitewater. I did a series of class III step-up trips last spring with a couple of sea kayakers who were interested in moving into whitewater - they picked it up real quick. Having a good brace and being comfortable with boat lean gets you started in a good place. Good luck.

1 Like