Water temp

Is anybody familiar with the Army Corp webpages where they indicate “water surface temperature” for a given lake? What is that? Is it just the temperature of the water at the surface?

Related question, I’m new to this and have no special cold weather/water clothes to wear yet . . . and I’ve been advised to stay off the water until the water temp gets up to 60. Sound advice?

Thanks

cold weather clothes

– Last Updated: Apr-02-09 4:04 PM EST –

Here is a site I use for coastal water temperatures.
http://www.nodc.noaa.gov/dsdt/wtg12.html

Yes, the temperatures are reading at close to the surface. Many areas could have very different temperatures at lower depths, but we are surface users, so don't need much else.

I wear a wet suit or similar whenever the water temperature is below 60-65 (no matter what the air temperature is). Water extracts heat from a body very quickly, and reduces the amount of time you can survive, so having clothing that maintains warmth should you end up in the water is important.

water temps
During the blessed few weeks when the water temps reach 60 degrees around here, I still think a wetsuit is required for safety. Perhaps if you’re paddling more protected areas, and much closer to shore then you might be ok without one. Go swimming for 30 minutes in 60 degree water, and see how chilled you are. I’d expect you wouldn’t be too happy.

It’s More Money, But…
A neprene top, for me, is clammy and confining. Hate it. A dry jacket and a neoprene bottom is the ticket for comfort on those not-that-cold days. I’d rather stay home than paddle in a wetsuit top.

For really cold conditions you can’t beat a full drysuit.

for temps that aren’t too cold