Werner Cyprus v. Werner Ikelos Paddles

I am going to buy one or the other. I have no clue which is best for me. I am new to Kayaking but an experienced paddler. I can’t try both. I currently use a shortish bent shaft carbon canoe paddle and based on my years of paddling open boat I am reasonably confident that my natural style will be high angle which is why I am choosing between these two models. The only difference between the two so far as I can tell is the size of the blade. I am a strong paddler 60 years old. I will need to convert my open boat paddling style to kayak. I am not racing. I will paddle in a variety of fresh and salt water and in various weather conditions - lots of day trips, some longer multi-day trips.

Any one familiar with these paddles able to chime in with an observation or opinion?

How big are you?

– Last Updated: Aug-26-11 9:01 AM EST –

I have the Cyprus, friends have had the Ikelos. The Ikelos is a shoulder-killer unless you are a quite big, strong person because the blade pulls so much water. For most of us, including the average sized guys, the Cyprus is the better blade.

Size matters here because, with a properly sized blade, you can increase your cadence without strain. Cadence is a lot of getting speed. So smaller can be better.

PS - You can accommodate the bigger blade size by using shorter strokes, which means a faster cadence, which may or may not be comfortable for you over a longer paddle.

Personal preference
These are both very good paddles. I know a number of skilled paddlers who use each. The Ikelos is a very powerful blade. It is akin to an Epic Active Tour. The Cyprus is easier on the body. Very aggressive and/or large paddlers I know prefer the Ikelos. Many others prefer the Cyprus.

add Shuna

– Last Updated: Aug-26-11 10:26 AM EST –

to the mix
From my experience, "bite" goes like this:
Cyprus->Shuna->Ikelos