What is the kayaking community's needs and issues currently

Hello everyone! I’m a first year college student at Lane Community College in Eugene Oregon. I’m currently in a writing 121 class that is making me research communities to research on so that I will have completed a participant observation paper, a community member profile and a community need profile and presentation by the end of the term. I have chosen the kayaking community as the community I will be researching! so I want to know mainly what are the main issues and needs that this community is facing right now (especially due to COVID times). Also if anyone would like to be an interviewee of mine let me know!

1 Like

I need everyone that just started kayaking, hiking and camping due to excessive free time to go back to work and get the hell out of MY outdoors.

8 Likes

aww geez my bad

maybe someone can point me to the direction where I can find this information

Communities need to learn that the easiest kayak launch is a sandy beach. Not a $60k - $120k ADA compliant plastic floating launch that requires pilings sunk into the ground and deteriorates in 3 years or less from weathering and/or vandalism. Of the 8 expensive launches I know of in my 3 county area, only one or two are fully functional after 3 years and unfortunately, 3 more are planned for 2021. Our local governments are throwing away tax dollars and not helping the paddling community as they imagine they are.

Paddlers need to learn to always wear a PFD when on the water in a kayak or canoe. Personal safety first.

3 Likes

Main issue in my (Great Lakes) area is failure to wear a PFD when paddling.

There’s also a lack of knowledge about kayaking or the curiosity to learn.