What’s up with Lendal paddles?

So ; here’s my situation.

I’m not a novice paddler (ACA L4 instructor). But in a sense I feel like it over this. I purchased a Lendal Cadence X bent shaft paddle. It’s nice but; I’m having an issue using it.

I feel and teach to use the lightest grip on the shaft possible without dropping the paddle. Doing that, what I’m finding with this paddle is that the blade seemingly is top heavy or perhaps the shaft doesn’t fit my hands. I find that after stroking on one side, the entire paddle wants to rotate the top edge of the blade forward toward the bow of the boat. Naturally this leaves the blade in a bad position for the next stroke. Every time. It’s beginning to make me nuts. Werner paddles don’t exhibit this tendency at all. I just don’t get what’s happening. Is it me; the paddle? Suggestions please.

As I’m not being allowed to email Lendal to ask them, if aLendsl rep should see this, please respond.
Thanks!

1 Like

can’t email or call Kendal?

werner you use is?

Jyak gave me a Warner Kalliste 240 CM paddle and I have used it in 3 kayaks. My Chatham17, my Perceptions Sea Lion Shadow and my Old Town Loon 106. It’s becoming a favorite of my in the Sea Lion and It’s also excellent in the Loon, but in the chatham17 I can’t get it to stop fluttering back and forth in a twisting motion along the axis of the shaft.
The difference between the 3 kayaks is that 2 have my butt at or slightly above the water level and the Chatham17 seats me a few inches below the water level. In the Chatham the flutter is there, and the more power I apply, the worse that flutter gets.