What skills are you currently working on?

I ask this because I’ve got more bad habits than just about anybody I paddle with. I was mostly self taught with very little formal instruction. So now I take a class every couple of years and the list of what to fix seems to gets longer rather than shorter. Regardless of what you paddle or where you paddle, we all can work to improve if we so desire.

I’ll start out positive and here is what is improving for me: sitting up straight (posture), core rotation while paddling, my forward stoke has improved and the last several years I’ve paid more attention to outfitting and buy a boat that actually fits and supports me. I do my fair share of straight arm paddling drills, think about arching the back, lifting the chin up a bit, and keeping the weight just forward of center. I’ve been working on this for several years now. I’ve been improving my focus- rotating the core (looking) to get to where I want to go.

My rolling is improving, all be it very slowly. While I still am struggling with good rotation on a sweep roll and still don’t have a strong combat roll. I have much more success in some boats than others. Prior to getting the hips replaced I was walking with a noticeable limp and rolling wasn’t even an option. So it’s a process for me, but pool time is now hard to come by again so I force myself to practice on river trips when the water temp is reasonable and water not polluted.

What is still bad: basic stroke techniques. I still don’t always put the full blade into the water, still generate some splash, and when demonstrating I need to slow everything down although that is improving a bit. With my last class (in June) I found out I have duel control hand issues (puts more wear and tear on the body), I need to keep my right elbow tucked in more when drawing on the right side. I need cleaner exits on my paddle strokes. Something I’ve added the last few years is stroke practice with the eyes closed.