what's wrong with a rec boat?

-- Last Updated: Mar-23-06 1:15 AM EST --

I'm a newbie here and a newbie to kayaking in general. My wife and I have been looking for an activity that we could get out of the house and enjoy together and we have been on many guided kayak/canoe trips that we really enjoyed. So, we did our research and found 2 boats that seemed to fit the bill, WS Pungo 120's. Seemed like a well built, comfortable boat that could handle most situations reasonably well. We just wanted good all-around boats for some weekend fun, but it seems like most posters here look down upon the rec boat. Are they so bad that we should consider different boats because we will get laughed off the river? Do they scream "beginner"? Will we find ourselves dissapointed with our decision in a short amount of time? Should I stop asking questions and just get on the water?

Rec Kayaks…

– Last Updated: Mar-23-06 2:11 AM EST –

You mentioned having gone on "Guided Trips" in the past? What types of kayaks did you paddle on these outings that have led you towards wanting to get a couple of kayaks?
One thing I have seen many, many times over the years is for new people to buy a "Rec kayak" that they quickly "Outgrow".
They start out with a basic rec boat but soon wish they had smething a little bit better.
If you scroll down a bit on the message board here, you'll see some threads pertaining to Wilderness Systems (makers of the Pungo's)...look for Wilderness Systems Dualite thread and the Tsunami day hatch threads...

The Pungos are nice little designs for paddling along shore close to the cottage and tghat sort of thing. Some quality issues this year though so watch out for that....like I said though...alot of people outgrow these kayaks quickly and wish they had gone ahead and got something a little nicer to begin with. Soem nice day touring kayaks include Riot Stealth, Riot Voyageur, Necky Manitou series and many more....

Good luck and happy paddling.

Cheers...