Which Epic is right for me?

I’ve been paddling for 8 years or so now and just a month ago decided to get my girlfriend into it. We bought her a preowned Perception Sonoma 13.5 which turned out to be a bit too narrow and tippy for her so she has kind of taken over my Necky Alsek which I do love. The Sonoma inspired zero confidence for me on open water so I decided maybe it’s time to cut the losses on the boat and get something new for myself and gift her the Alsek she seems to like.

IN SHORT: I am deciding between an EPIC 14x, V5 or V5 performance. What I want is a boat that has the stability to instill some confidence in open water as well as enough storage for light, day touring. The 14x seems fit but it’s by far the most expensive. Ik the V5s (surfskis) aren’t exactly touring boats but the 10gallon hatch may be enough for me and the ease of self-rescue for a sit-on-top is super enticing. I struggle and can barely manage my 49lbs Alsek alone, but is doubling the cost for the lightweight V5 really worth it? Does the hybrid V5 have any other benefits other then lightweight?

I realize I have rambled a bunch, thank you in advance to anyone willing to read and help sort my brain out.

This is enough of a jump in costs that I wouldn’t think about buying one without getting butt time in it. Are there any dealers near you? Or can you make a weekend out of a trip to see one?

I do have a nearby dealer I have gotten in touch with and plan to take a look at each of them this weekend. At first the 14x seemed expensive but the perfect choice. Lightweight, stable, great tourer. But the plastic V5 carries similar dimensions and is less then half the cost; but NOW I’m veering for the hybrid build V5 for the super light weight. The simplicity of self-rescue between the sit-on-top V5 as opposed to the practicality of the 14x I feel is the true debate.