Which Kayak to Choose?

-- Last Updated: Apr-28-06 1:18 AM EST --

Which kayak to choose? Your oppinion counts. Please reply and put in your two cents. I am going to have to do the unthinkable and buy a kayak site unseen. There are very limited opportunities for me to rent so that I can try out different models. If I could find time in my schedule I would just fly somewhere for a couple of days to demo boats.

I am 5'11" @ 165 lbs with size 9 feet with a 32" inseam. I have no experience whatsoever other than two brief encounters with the Perception Carolina and the Dagger Specter. Both boats felt fine except I felt that they were something I would buy for my kids. I can say that fit was good on both. Stability was so carefree that I feel I could go into something a bit tippier.

I rock climb, backpack, mountainbike, and dirtbike. While I do not consider myself an athlete, I am definately an adrenaline junky. this boat though will not be about adrenaline. I will be using this boat primarily on lakes with the occasional trip down to the gulf of Mexico to ply the intercoastal waterways and back bays. I am a backpacker above everything else and kayaking, at least for now, will resemble what I do in the backcountry. It is mostly about solitude and nature. In the backcountry I am not the lightest or the fastest, but pretty close.

Must haves:
1) Must be good roller.
2) Great secondary stability
3) Quality construction
4) Dry hatches or the ability to make them dry.
5) Easy self rescue. (see solitude)

Will pay big bucks if I think it is worth it, but would rather save and buy another kayak later this summer.

my 2 cents
wildy tempest 165…

Necky Chatham
Get one of the Necky Chathams…awesome paddling kayaks and very little windage. Strong quality control as well.