Whisperlite stove problem

I have an older whisperlite stove. Lately it will not burn as it should. I have done all the obvious things like clean the jet, clean the fuel line, make sure the pump works, filled it with clean fuel. All I get is the priming fuel to burn and then the stove won’t kick over to the cook mode. It doesn’t seem to get the pressure to kick into the burn mode. Any suggestions?

Send it MSR
I hear their customer service is teh roxors.

If you don’t get any flame out of the burner, just down at the bottom, it’s likely a blockage.

I assume it’s properly primed and hot enough and you’re not a total noob using it and whatnot?

I lent mine to my sister once who complained it was broken. She was using it wrong and not priming the coil, just turning it on and watching the flames fly high. When I explained how to use it she was miffed I didn’t give her the info beforehand. It’s printed on the fuel bottle. Ha!

re

– Last Updated: Oct-25-05 12:40 PM EST –

i have several, it sounds like your Jet is clogd... (i know) u said u cleaned it..

on the Mississippi i had problems with micro fine sand getting into the jet on my selfcleaning "shaker-jet" multifuel stove... it would do the same thing... prime but not fire or barely fire after being preheated... i had to hand clean the jet before every use at one point.. i finially sent it home and switched to a little single burner coleman.. which didnt come apart and allow sand to enter the fuel line

you said the pump was good, it doesnt take much pressure to operate... also the lower the pressure the easier it is to simmer.. i know , its a fine line between simmering and a jet engine :)

is it a multi-fuel whisperlite? a shaker-jet? do you use gasoline or white gas? white gas(coleman) burns cleaner and doesnt clog the jet as much as gasoline. also Kero or diesel leave a ton of soot and are best avoided. the pin on the shaker of the shakerjet is what i used to clean the hole in the jet by hand