Why Greenland Style Paddles?

So I’m new to kayaking, only been out on the water a dozen times, and I was wondering whats the deal with Greenland Paddles?

It seems to me that a modern paddle would weigh less and be more efficient.

So I was just wondering if someone could give me the 411 on the benefits of the greenland style paddle.

Thanks for your expertise!!!

Form Factor
The GP has an extensive technique associated with it. Most of said technique revolves around the shape of the paddle and the subsequent attributes. Specifically, many find it more tactile and maneuverable for a variety of traditional Greenland maneuvers. Additionally, those attracted to the traditional aspect of the sport find the GP alluring from that perspective.

That is a simplified answer. Invariably, you’re gonna get a bunch of GP users expound on the many advantages they experience with a GP whenever you ask about them. As you advance in the sport, you’ll develop preferences and knowledge that help you decide what you want out of a paddle. You may end up on a surfski with a wing paddle, or you may end up in a SOF with a hand carved GP. You may even end up in a rec boat with a plastic paddle. It all depends on what you want to do, and what characteristics you find important.

My one word of advice: Don’t let anyone convince you that you can’t be an “advanced” paddler, or that only advanced paddlers use a GP, or a wing, or whatever. Different folks, different strokes. Never more true than in kayaking.

GPs
Many people find that using a GP and the associated paddling style(s) is more comfortable for long trips. The bouyancy of the blades makes them feel light in the water. The shape allows a great variety of hand positions and easy indexing, which lets one use a wide variety of support strokes and rolls. The ease of making your own also appeals to a lot of folks.