Wide paddle

-- Last Updated: Oct-27-10 5:03 PM EST --

I am new to Kayaking. I just picked up a Dagger Axis 10.5. I went out today and found the paddle (BB) a little weak. I am a strong man and would prefer to mov emir water with each stroke. Could someone recommend a paddle with a wide head? I plan to do mostly flat water trips. I think I would enjoy the tension a little more. Thanks.

paddling
Paddling is about 50% strength and 50% technique. The strength you probably have, the technique you won’t learn the first few times in the boat. You’ll get much more out of the paddle once you learn how, take some time to learn before you buy something different.

Bill H.

ONNO PADDLES
Hybrid lay up Carbon and S-glass blades(7 1/4") with carbon shaft (adjustable 10 cm ferrel). He can custom make a paddle any length and width you want. This is the best selling lay up he offers. I paid around $240 about 4 yrs ago. If you want good power in your stroke do not go any wider than 7 1/4". Full carbon will probably run around $300. Just a guess. You’ll have to check website.

Paddle Width
If you are new to the sport, it’s probably not to your advantage to start with a wide paddle just to move more water. Take your time to become familiar with your boat and paddle. Paddle width isn’t all that important. As an example, take a look at the greenland paddles that a lot of paddlers prefer. They are generally in the range of about 3.5 inches wide and they are used by some pretty strong paddlers.

I like wider paddles
I like the bite that they give. Are they faster? No, especially seeing Patrick at ONNO’s comparison. But I still like them.

What’s your budget?

Onno’s are awesome.

Move the boat
You are not trying to move water. You are trying to move the boat. With good technique, the paddle should come out of the water at essentially the same place it entered the water.

Larger Paddle or Faster Boat?

– Last Updated: Oct-22-10 11:34 AM EST –