Wife vs. Kayak?

-- Last Updated: May-21-16 12:04 AM EST --

I have been going through the kayak fever for about the last month. My wife says I should buy a cheapo from (X)mart. I have researched a lot of reviews and I don't want a cheapo. I am new to kayaking but I think I want a good quality SOT for fishing. I like the Ascend H12 Hybrid from what I have figured out from researching. Anyways...from the guys with bossy wives, how did you go about getting the one you wanted? I am not looking to get divorced over this, but I want to make the right choice. Thanks for reading/advising.

Cheep
A cheap one is fine for beginning.

Check state registration requirements. You may want a better one if you have to go through the hassles of registration.

Safety Card
You can play the safety card as well.

wife
you have a job and work? Bills paid? Tell her to get over it! Life is short she could have a lot worst problems with a marriage than a husband wanting a better kayak.

The safety card
Yeah, I am in process of learning and explaining to the wife the need for higher quality since I plan to go down rivers and be around power boats on the lake. Thanks

All’s fine with the money
I agree about if my bills are paid and all. I make a good living and only have a mortgage now. I surely can afford a $1000 to buy a little happiness. I am just wondering if any of you guys had to buy something when your wife was dead set against you spending that much on a hobby. How long does it take them to get over it. I feel if I have to suffer, at least it will be on the water in a nice ride. I shouldn’t have let it get to this point, but it is what it is now.

Never married here
Never married here, so maybe I dont know what I am talking about. But perhaps one else option would be to buy used. You can get a better quality kayak at the cheapo Xmart prices.

Wife