Will I get bored?

I’m a newbie and looking at boats because renting isn’t available this time of year during weekdays.

If I get the Emotion Glide, a short (9’10") rec kayak, am I likely to get bored quickly with it? I have a lake about 3 miles from my house, and my main objectives at this point are to get some exercise and develop solid paddling techniques. I would also like to join a paddling group for some short outings on nearby lakes.

Then in the spring I could buy a different boat if I take to paddling.

I’m just concerned that the Glide might be a slug and be too slow and boring. Unfortunately, I can’t demo one as none of the local stores have them in stock.

Thoughts or advice?

Glide gets positive reviews but …,
I would try a longer used rec kayak, something in the 12-14 foot range. If you get bored then you will have no trouble getting your money back should you decide to sell.

It doesn’t look like a slug for its
length. What is a slug depends on perspective. The Liquid Logic XP10 is about the same length and width as the glide, and would be viewed by us whitewater types as rather fast.

As for bores, I know the LL XP10 would do OK in a tidal bore, the the Emotion might have more bite at its stems for such circumstances. YMMV.

If you try the Glide and its comfy, and it doesn’t cost much, it might be a good way to get started, given that you anticipate being able to afford something else soon.

as rec boats go…