ww kayak similar to Pirouette?

I am new to whitewater paddling (although I’ve been paddling calmer waters for about 4 years) and I bought a used Pirouette that I am trying to learn to roll. I really like the way the Pirouette handles (much more forgiving than the ww kayak I started with, which kept flipping me).

When I do learn to roll the Pirouette, I intend to reward myself by upgrading (maybe something nice and new), but I still want something very forgiving like the Pirouette - just a bit shorter and new so I can make it mine. Don’t get me wrong - used boats are fine, but this time I want to buy what I WANT, not just what happens to be available.

Now I need advice. FYI, I don’t have any desire to do acrobatics or play moves, but I do like to river-surf a little. Also, I never intend to do more than about Class II or an easy III. So most of the rivers I paddle will have long flat spots in between minor rapids.

Yes, I know I could probably do Class II in a rec boat, but I have found that you can “feel” the river much more in a ww boat - even a piddly little rapid is more fun in a ww boat. And for someone who can stand to burn some extra calories (me!), it’s a great workout.

I have my eye on a Prijon Chopper (seems similar to the Pirouette only about a foot or so shorter) and I also like the Prijon Embudo (now we’re getting into creek boats, and it wouldn’t be as fast as the Chopper, but it seems to have the same roundish, forgiving hull). Also like the Jackson Rocker.

It’s near impossible for me to demo Prijons as nobody stocks them in this area. So I would have have to just hope for the best. I have sat in the Rocker and it fits me fine, but I didn’t paddle it.

Thoughts?

Donna

Rocker is way overkill…
You don’t need a creeker to run class II-III stuff. Although I always recommend used boats (especially in whitewater due to the high boat turnover and the great deals), if you insist on a new river runner, there are plenty of great options.